Armin Linke2019-03-29T12:40:07+00:00
Armin Linke, Iron Mountain Preservation Facility, Boyers (Pennsylvania) USA, 2018

Armin Linke

*1966 in Milan

lives and works in Berlin

among others visiting lecturer at the Università Iuav di Venezia, professor for artistic photography at Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe

 

1994 “Camera di Sicurezza”, Galleria Guenzani and Galleria Carla Sozzani, Milan, IT
1996 “Instant Book 1/2/3”, Deitch Projects New York, US
1998 “Sozialromantischer Ausblick”, Newsantandrea, Savona, IT
2001 “Muro temporaneo”, Studio Massimo De Carlo, Milan, IT
2004 “An Uneven Exchange of Power”, Storefront for Art and Architecture, New York, US
Vitamin Creative Space, Guangzhou, CN
2005 “Prospectif Cinéma”, Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR
Galleria Luisa Strina, São Paulo, BR
2006 Galleria Massimo De Carlo, Milan, IT
2008 “Immaginario Nucleare”, Museo della Calcografia, Rome, IT
2009 “Concrete and Samples”, Museum für Gegenwartkunst Siegen, DE
2010 “Armin Linke”, Heidelberger Kunstverein, DE
“Future Archaeologies”, Galerie Klosterfelde, Berlin, DE
2013 “Armin Linke/Alpi”, vai – Voralberger Architektur Institut, Dornbirn, AT
“Russian Spatiographies”, Triumph Gallery, Moscow, RU
2015 “The Appearance of That Which Cannot be Seen”, ZKM Karlsruhe, DE
2016 “raumbilderfolgen”, aut. architektur und tirol, Innsbruck, AT
2017 “The Appearance of That Which Cannot be Seen”, Centre de la photographie, Geneva, CH
“OCEANS – Dialogues between Ocean Floor and Water Column”, Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst, Oldenburg, DE
2018 “Prospecting Ocean”, Istituto di Scienze Marine (CNR-ISMAR), Venice, IT
2019 “Carceri d’invenzioni”, XXII. Triennale Milano, Milan, IT
2001 Prospectif Cinéma, Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR
2003 “Geography and the Politics of Mobility”, Generali Foundation, Vienna, AT
“Vacant Community”, Fondazione Adriano Olivetti, Rome, IT
2004 “Territories – The Frontiers of Utopia and Other Facts on the Ground”, Malmö Konsthall, SE
2005 “Herzog & de Meuron – An Exhibition”, Tate Gallery, London, UK
“Atmospheres of Democracy”, ZKM Karlsruhe, DE
2006 “The Maghreb Connection”, Townhouse Gallery Cairo, Cairo, EG
10. Mostra Internazionale di Architettura, Biennale di Venezia, Venice, IT
2007 “Flashcube”, Leeum-Samsung Museum of Art Seoul, KR
2nd Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, Museum of Modern Art at Petrovka, Moscow, RU
“Spectacular City”, NRW-Forum, Düsseldorf, DE
2008 28th Bienal de São Paulo, BR
“The Map: Navigating the Present”, Bildmuseet Umeå, SE
2009 “The Map is not the Territory”, Esbjerg Kunstmuseum, DK
2010 “La Revanche de L’archive Photographique”, Centre de la Photographie, Geneva, CH
“China Purple”, Tate Modern, Turbine Hall Bridge, London, UK
“Global Design”, Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, CH
2012 Taipei Biennial 2012, The Museum of Crossings, Taipei, TW
“The City that doesn’t exist”, Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst, Aachen, DE
2013 “Future Perfect”, Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt am Main, DE
“Agency. Armin Linke and Anselm Franke”, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, DE
“Concrete – Fotografie und Architektur”, Fotomuseum Winterthur, CH
2014 “Future Perfect”, Kaliningrad State Art Gallery, Kaliningrad, RU
“Alvar Aalto – Second Nature”, Vitra Design Museum, Weil am Rhein, DE
“Paparazzi! Photographers, stars and artists”, Centre Pompidou Metz, FR
2015 “Fire and Forget. On Violence”, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, DE
2016 Manifesta 11, Zürich, CH
“Places of Production – Aluminium” (in collaboration with Giulia Bruno),
15th Architecture Biennale, Venice, IT
2017 “Architecture in Contemporary Art”, Museum of Fine Arts, Split, HR
“How To Live Together”, Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna, AT
2018 “The New Alphabet– Opening Days”, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, DE
“Exploring the Arctic Ocean”, Visual Art Center – University of Texas at Austin, US
2019 “Kubus. Sparda-Kunstpreis”, Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, DE
2007 “Nuclear Voyage” (mit Tommasio Pincio, Pocko Editions)
2010 “Il corpo dello stato” (JRP Ringier)
2012 “Kirche und Reich” (mit Giorgio Agamben, Merve Verlag)
2013 “Armin Linke – Russian Spatiographies” (Triumphoto, Moscow)
“Narciso nelle colonie – Un altro viaggio in Etiopia” (Edizioni Quodlibet)
2016 “L’apparenza di ciò che non si vede” (Silvana Editoriale)
2017 “The Appearance of That Which Cannot Be Seen” (Spector Books)
2018 “Phenotypes/Limited forms” (Lars Müller Publishers)
Portrait Sinje Dillenkofer - Kubus. Sparda Kunstpreis 2019

Extension of the documentary


Armin Linke travels the world as a photographer. His work has thus far taken him, for example, to Indonesia, where he observed workers mining sulfur at the Kawah Ijen volcano in Biau, East Java. In Yichang (Hubei), China, he documented the massive Three Gorges dam and took pictures of the clearing of the rainforest in Indonesia. He captured the world’s largest ski lift in Tokyo, Japan, in 1998, and travelled to Spain to photograph the greenhouse of an intensive agricultural production system, in which not a single plant is visible under the coverings and equipment. These color photographs impress with their brilliance, sharpness, and composition.

Armin Linke, Greenhouse, El Ejido Spain, 2013
Armin Linke, Ski Dome, Tokyo Japan, 1998

Aesthetic impact and sociopolitical history

At the beginning, Linke often chose panorama formats and frequently shot his motifs from an elevated position. The photographs impress with the sheer size of the seemingly infinite objects. In the eighteenth century, the concept of sublimity was coined for such an overwhelming aesthetic experience of nature.

In 2003, when Linke chose a selection of 200 photographs from his already considerable archive for his publication “Transient“, he arranged them according to their aesthetic value without any further information. But from the very first glance at the published images, it becomes clear that, beyond their aesthetic effect, they also contain a complex socio-political story. They demonstrate how comprehensively humankind intervenes in nature worldwide, altering it with massive effects on ecological and economic conditions. Linke’s photographs make these upheavals visible in exemplary images, the hyper-reality of which occasionally leads one to doubt mere documentation. In fact, however, the artist dispenses with digital manipulation, unlike Andreas Gursky, for example, who consciously uses digital technology to create his pictures. In contrast, Linke remains a documentarist.

Armin Linke, Kawah Ijen Volcano, Biau (Jawa Timur) Indonesia, 2016

Unimpressed by the surface, discovering what is hidden

Since he began working in the 1990s, one can speak of a long-term archive which conveys deeper insights only retrospectively. In an interview with Max Dax in 2017, the artist formulated his claim:

“I want images that also document how they are part of a larger narrative. They become forensic later, when a person takes the time to put them in a larger context and not just view each one in isolation. That would mean my images function as indices that do not make a specific statement until they are in the right configuration.”

It is often commissions that lead him to the remotest corners. For TBA 21 (Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary) in 2017, for example, he documented the exploitation of deep-sea resources. Since only corresponding specialist knowledge can correctly interpret what he has seen, Linke looks for local companions, whose knowledge and experience accompany him, much like Virgil through Dante’s underworld. He chooses this comparison in the same interview to emphasize the importance of insider knowledge, which is necessary in order to be able to discover, unimpressed by the surface, what is hidden behind it. In doing so, it might turn out that the projects lead him to already existing image archives. In the case of deep-sea mining in international waters, which should be regulated by the International Seabed Authority Organisation (ISA) of the United Nations in Jamaica, it was video recordings of underwater drones that he evaluated with the help of experts. In 2013, together with the humanities scholars Doreen Mende and Estelle Blaschke, he examined an industrial archive of the former GDR to see how design history, economics, and state diplomacy interacted. They evaluated the photographic documents with the help of interviews with contemporary witnesses.

Armin Linke, Peter Hanappe, ZKM, Phenotypes / Limited Forms, Karlsruhe Germany, 2007

“Utopia Station”
The public as curator

By this time, an archive of 500,000 photographs had grown out of his own twenty-year photo-documentary work – an abundance that paradoxically leads to a shrinking reception of the photographs since it is virtually impossible for a single individual to grasp them. In order to reactivate the archive and lift images that would have fallen out of his selection, Linke subjected it to a long-term experiment. This began with the Utopia Station at the Venice Biennale in 2003 and was then continued on the Internet. Visitors were given the opportunity to select eight of the 6,000 photographs from the archive and print them out as a book. In this way, the digital copies of his analogue photographs were returned to a tangible form.

In addition to the underlying idea of delegating the artistic-curatorial decision to the visitors, the project received a further special quality as a long-term study. With their selection, each individual had left a footprint, which, together with the other approximately 10,000 participants, provided information about the criteria on which their selection was based.

 

The experiment had become an ideal basis for the TAGora research project, which was intended to analyze how groups are formed on the Internet that then become visible on Flickr, for example, through “tags” or keywords. The scientist Peter Hanappe collaborated with Armin Linke to investigate the selection criteria. The results were included in the final publication “Phenotypes/Limited Forms” (2018), which also documented the exhibition series of the same name. All participants were presumably convinced of the individuality and uniqueness of their selection. The computer evaluation revealed, however, not only how often or rarely individual motifs had been chosen, it also showed which patterns the users had in common with other participants. The sequence and title probability, color similarity, and image groups were categories used to analyze voting behavior. From such unconsciously chosen criteria of individuals, probabilities can be calculated that make future decisions of groups predictable – a calculation model named after the Russian mathematician A. A. Markov and the basis for the evaluation of user behavior on the Internet, with all the economic and political implications currently discussed in the context of social media.

Armin Linke, Installation »The Appearance of That Which Cannot be Seen«, ZKM, Karlsruhe, 2015

The dependence of interpretation on the interest in knowledge

In another project – “The Appearance of That Which Cannot Be Seen” (2015/17) – Linke took the opposite path. He once again delegated the selection from his archive to other people, this time to the scientists Ariella Azoulay, Bruno Latour, Peter Weibel, Mark Wigley, and Jan Zalasiewicz. Here, the aim was not to infer formal selection criteria from patterns of selected groups of images, but rather to convey how photographs can be read in different ways, depending on the systems of thought that have been developed over many years of scientific work through the respective interest in knowledge. For example: The photograph of the football stadium in Warsaw, where the 19th UN Climate Change Conference took place in 2013, was interpreted differently by Jan Zalasiewicz, Bruno Latour, and Ariella Azoulay.

+ read more
Armin Linke, Iron Mountain Preservation Facility, Boyers (Pennsylvania) USA, 2018

Dynamic selection of the archive

Linke remains loyal to his documentary work as a photographer. In addition to this, there are also collaborations which give him the opportunity to question the medial or institutional framing on the Internet or in archives as to how they grant or deny access to images. In archives, it is the catchwords that allow motifs to be found, but also regulate the context in which they appear. In contrast, on the Internet the images are not ordered by a knowledge system, but rather by the users and their search queries. The static marking of the archive has thus given way to a dynamic one, since the results of comparable search queries on the Internet run in the background.

“Image Capital” – the extension of the documentary

The photo historian Blaschke dealt with this phenomenon in her research project on the photo and image agency founded by Otto Bettmann in 1936, which joined the photo archive and distribution company “Corbis” in 1995 and has been part of the Visual China Group since 2016. Her scientific investigation now forms the starting point for a new project that Linke began with her under the title “Image Capital“. One can be sure that, as part of this collaboration, he will create new iconic photographs that visually condense the complexity of the investigation.

In this sense, Linke’s work can be described as an extension of the documentary, since it no longer serves the mere description of the world, as perhaps the self-chosen task of classical documentary photography once was. It is associated instead with artistic research that Linke described in an interview with Illaria Speri in 2016 as follows:

“For me, an exhibition, a book, a film are final forms but in the mode of the essay: they are not closed in terms of their interpretation, but as experiments. They allow me to go on seeking other configurations, themes or places of interpretation.”

Armin Linke, Installation »L’apparenza di ciò che non si vede / The Appearance of that which cannot be seen«, PAC – Padiglione d'Arte Contemporanea di Milano, 2016
Armin Linke, Installation »L’apparenza di ciò che non si vede / The Appearance of that which cannot be seen«, PAC – Padiglione d'Arte Contemporanea di Milano, 2016
Armin Linke, Three Gorges Dam, construction of a lift for ships, Yichang (Hubei) China, 1998

Armin Linke wins “Kubus. Sparda Art Prize” 2019

“Together with Estelle Blaschke, I am delighted about the award,” said Armin Linke, “and dedicate it to my co-nominees, Sinje Dillenkofer, Peter Granser, and Annette Kelm. In the run-up to the jury’s decision, we agreed that we would share the prize—as an expression of our mutual artistic and collegial esteem.”

Armin Linke2019-03-29T11:58:35+00:00
Armin Linke, Iron Mountain Preservation Facility, Boyers (Pennsylvania) USA, 2018

Armin Linke

*1966 in Mailand

lebt und arbeitet in Berlin
u.a. Gastprofessur an der Università Iuav di Venezia,
Professur für künstlerische Fotografie an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung in Karlsruhe

1994 »Camera di Sicurezza«, Galleria Guenzani and Galleria Carla Sozzani, Mailand, IT
1996 »Instant Book 1/2/3«, Deitch Projects New York, US
1998 »Sozialromantischer Ausblick«, Newsantandrea, Savona, IT
2001 »Muro temporaneo«, Studio Massimo De Carlo, Mailand, IT
2004 »An Uneven Exchange of Power«, Storefront for Art and Architecture, New York, US
Vitamin Creative Space, Guangzhou, CN
2005 »Prospectif Cinéma«, Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR
Galleria Luisa Strina, São Paulo, BR
2006 Galleria Massimo De Carlo, Mailand, IT
2008 »Immaginario Nucleare«, Museo della Calcografia, Rom, IT
2009 »Concrete and Samples«, Museum für Gegenwartkunst Siegen, DE
2010 »Armin Linke«, Heidelberger Kunstverein, DE
»Future Archaeologies«, Galerie Klosterfelde, Berlin, DE
2013 »Armin Linke/Alpi«, vai – Voralberger Architektur Institut, Dornbirn, AT
»Russian Spatiographies«, Triumph Gallery, Moskau, RU
2015 »The Appearance of That Which Cannot be Seen«, ZKM Karlsruhe, DE
2016 »raumbilderfolgen«, aut. architektur und tirol, Innsbruck, AT
2017 »The Appearance of That Which Cannot be Seen«, Centre de la photographie, Genf, CH
»OCEANS – Dialogues between Ocean Floor and Water Column«, Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst, Oldenburg, DE
2018 »Prospecting Ocean«, Istituto di Scienze Marine (CNR-ISMAR), Venedig, IT
2019 »Carceri d’invenzioni«, XXII. Triennale Milano, Mailand, IT
2001 Prospectif Cinéma, Centre Pompidou, Paris, FR
2003 »Geography and the Politics of Mobility«, Generali Foundation, Wien, AT
»Vacant Community«, Fondazione Adriano Olivetti, Rom, IT
2004 »Territories – The Frontiers of Utopia and Other Facts on the Ground«, Malmö Konsthall, SE
2005 »Herzog & de Meuron – An Exhibition«, Tate Gallery, London, UK
»Atmospheres of Democracy«, ZKM Karlsruhe, DE
2006 »The Maghreb Connection«, Townhouse Gallery Cairo, Kairo, EG
10. Mostra Internazionale di Architettura, Biennale di Venezia, Venedig, IT
2007 »Flashcube«, Leeum-Samsung Museum of Art Seoul, KR
2nd Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, Museum of Modern Art at Petrovka, Moskau, RU
»Spectacular City«, NRW-Forum, Düsseldorf, DE
2008 28th Bienal de São Paulo, BR
»The Map: Navigating the Present«, Bildmuseet Umeå, SE
2009 »The Map is not the Territory«, Esbjerg Kunstmuseum, DK
2010 »La Revanche de L’archive Photographique, Centre de la Photographie, Genf, CH
»China Purple«, Tate Modern, Turbine Hall Bridge, London, UK
»Global Design«, Museum für Gestaltung Zürich, CH
2012 Taipei Biennial 2012, The Museum of Crossings, Taipei, TW
»The City that doesn’t exist«, Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst, Aachen, DE
2013 »Future Perfect«, Frankfurter Kunstverein, DE
»Agency. Armin Linke and Anselm Franke«, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, DE
»Concrete – Fotografie und Architektur«, Fotomuseum Winterthur, CH
2014 »Future Perfect«, Kaliningrad State Art Gallery, Kaliningrad, RU
»Alvar Aalto – Second Nature«, Vitra Design Museum, Weil am Rhein, DE
»Paparazzi! Photographers, stars and artists«, Centre Pompidou Metz, FR
2015 »Fire and Forget. On Violence«, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, DE
2016 Manifesta 11, Zürich, CH
»Places of Production – Aluminium« (in collaboration with Giulia Bruno),
15th Architecture Biennale, Venedig, IT
2017 »Architecture in Contemporary Art«, Museum of Fine Arts, Split, HR
»How To Live Together«, Kunsthalle Wien, AT
2018 »The New Alphabet– Opening Days«, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, DE
»Exploring the Arctic Ocean«, Visual Art Center – University of Texas at Austin, US
2019 »Kubus. Sparda-Kunstpreis«, Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, DE
2007 »Nuclear Voyage« (mit Tommasio Pincio, Pocko Editions)
2010 »Il corpo dello stato« (JRP Ringier)
2012 Kirche und Reich (mit Giorgio Agamben, Merve Verlag)
2013 »Armin Linke – Russian Spatiographies« (Triumphoto, Moscow)
»Narciso nelle colonie – Un altro viaggio in Etiopia« (Edizioni Quodlibet)
2016 »L’apparenza di ciò che non si vede« (Silvana Editoriale)
2017 »The Appearance of That Which Cannot Be Seen« (Spector Books)
2018 »Phenotypes/Limited forms« (Lars Müller Publishers)
Portrait Sinje Dillenkofer - Kubus. Sparda Kunstpreis 2019

Ausweitung des Dokumentarischen


Armin Linke reist als Fotograf durch die ganze Welt. Seine Arbeit führte ihn bislang nach Indonesien, wo er am Kawah Ijen Vulkan in Biau, Jawa Timur, die Arbeiter beim Abbau von Schwefel beobachtete. Er dokumentierte den gewaltigen Staudamm Three Gorges in Yichang (Hupeh), China. Er schuf Bilder von den Rodungen des Regenwaldes in Indonesien. Er hielt die 1998 weltweit größte Skibahn in Tokio, Japan, fest und reiste nach Spanien, um das Treibhaus einer Intensivlandwirtschaft zu fotografieren, in der keine einzige Pflanze unter den Abdeckungen und Apparaturen zu erkennen ist. Diese Farbaufnahmen beeindrucken durch ihre Brillanz, die Bildschärfe und die Komposition.

Armin Linke, Greenhouse, El Ejido Spain, 2013
Armin Linke, Ski Dome, Tokyo Japan, 1998

Ästhetische Wirkung und gesellschaftspolitische Geschichte

Linke wählte zu Beginn häufig Panoramaformate. Seine Motive nahm er oft von einem erhöhten Standort auf. Die Fotografien beeindrucken durch die schiere Größe der unendlich scheinenden Objekte. Im 18.Jahrhundert hatte man für eine solche überwältigende ästhetische Naturerfahrung den Begriff der Erhabenheit geprägt.

Als Linke 2003 eine Auswahl von 200 Fotografien aus seinem damals schon beträchtlichen Archiv für seine Publikation »Transient« auswählte, ordnete er sie ohne weitere Informationen nach ihrem ästhetischen Wert an. Aber schon aus der ersten Anschauung der publizierten Bilder wird deutlich, dass sie über die ästhetische Wirkung hinaus eine komplexe gesellschaftspolitische Geschichte bergen. Sie machen deutlich, wie umfassend der Mensch weltweit in die Natur eingreift und sie mit massiven Auswirkungen auf ökologische und ökonomische Verhältnisse verändert. Linkes Aufnahmen lassen diese Umwälzungen beispielhaft in Bildern sichtbar werden, deren Hyperrealität manchmal an einer bloßen Dokumentation zweifeln lassen. Tatsächlich verzichtet aber der Künstler auf die digitale Manipulation, anders als zum Beispiel Andreas Gursky, der bewusst die digitale Technik zur Bildgestaltung nutzt. Linke hingegen bleibt Dokumentarist.

Armin Linke, Kawah Ijen Volcano, Biau (Jawa Timur) Indonesia, 2016

Von der Oberfläche unbeeindruckt das Verborgene entdecken

Da er seine Arbeit in den 1990er-Jahren begonnen hat, kann von einem Langzeitarchiv gesprochen werden, das manche tieferliegende Erkenntnis erst retrospektiv vermittelt. In einem Interview mit Max Dax formuliert der Künstler 2017 den für ihn sich daraus ergebenden Anspruch:

»Ich will Bilder, die zugleich dokumentieren, dass sie Teil einer größeren Narration sind. Forensisch werden sie erst im Nachhinein, wenn jemand sich die Mühe macht, sie nicht nur losgelöst voneinander zu betrachten, sondern sie in einen größeren Kontext setzt. Meine Bilder hätten dann die Rolle von Indizien, die erst in der richtigen Zusammenstellung eine konkrete Aussage treffen.«

Es sind häufig Aufträge, die ihn in die entlegensten Winkel führen. Für die TBA 21 (Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary) dokumentierte er 2017 z. B. die Ausbeutung der Ressourcen in der Tiefsee. Da nur entsprechendes Fachwissen das Gesehene richtig deuten lässt, sucht sich Linke vor Ort Begleiter, deren Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen ihn wie Vergil durch Dantes Unterwelt begleiten. Er wählt diesen Vergleich in demselben Interview, um die Bedeutung des Insiderwissens zu betonen, welches notwendig sei, um von der Oberfläche unbeeindruckt das dahinter Verborgene entdecken zu können. Dabei kann es sein, dass ihn die Projekte zu bereits bestehenden Bildarchiven führen. Im Fall des Tiefseebergbaus in internationalen Gewässern, der von der International Seabed Authority Organisation (ISA) der Vereinten Nationen aus Jamaica geregelt werden soll, waren es Videoaufzeichnungen von Unterwasserdrohnen, die er mit Hilfe von Experten auswertete. Gemeinsam mit den Geisteswissenschaftlerinnen Doreen Mende und Estelle Blaschke untersuchte er 2013 ein Industriearchiv der ehemaligen DDR daraufhin, in welcher Form Designgeschichte, Ökonomie und staatliche Diplomatie zusammenwirkten. Sie erschlossen die Fotodokumente mit Hilfe von Zeitzeugeninterviews.

Armin Linke, Peter Hanappe, ZKM, Phenotypes / Limited Forms, Karlsruhe Germany, 2007

»Utopia Station«
Das Publikum als Kurator

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt war aus seiner eigenen zwanzigjährigen fotodokumentarischen Arbeit ein Archiv von 500.000 Aufnahmen erwachsen – eine Fülle, die paradoxerweise zu einer schrumpfenden Rezeption der Aufnahmen führt, weil sie sich einer einzelnen Person entzieht. Um das Archiv dagegen wieder zu aktivieren und Bilder heben zu lassen, die aus seiner Auswahl herausgefallen wären, unterzog Linke es einem langjährigen Experiment. Es startete mit der Utopia Station auf der Biennale in Venedig 2003 und wurde danach im Internet fortgesetzt. Die Besucher_innen hatten die Möglichkeit, aus 6.000 Aufnahmen des Archivs acht auszuwählen und sich als Buch auszudrucken. Die Digitalisate seiner analogen Fotografien wurden auf diese Weise wieder in ein greifbares Objekt zurückgeführt.

Neben der dahinterstehenden Idee, die künstlerisch-kuratorische Entscheidung an die Besucher-innen zu delegieren, erhielt das Projekt als Langzeituntersuchung eine weitere besondere Qualität. Denn jede Person hatte mit ihrer Auswahl einen Fußabdruck hinterlassen, der in der Zusammenschau mit den anderen rund 10.000 Teilnehmer_innen Auskunft über die Kriterien gab, die ihrer Auswahl jeweils zu Grunde lagen.

Das Experiment war zu einer idealen Grundlage für das Forschungsprojekt TAGora geworden, das analysieren sollte, wie sich im Internet Gruppen bilden, die durch »tags«, also mit Hilfe von Kennzeichnungen oder Schlüsselwörtern, zum Beispiel bei Flickr sichtbar werden.

Der Wissenschaftler Peter Hanappe kollaborierte mit Armin Linke bei der Untersuchung der Auswahlkriterien. Die Ergebnisse gingen 2018 in die Abschlusspublikation »Phenotypes/Limited Formes« ein, die auch die gleichnamige Ausstellungsreihe dokumentierte. Wahrscheinlich waren alle Beteiligten von der Individualität und Einmaligkeit ihrer Auswahl überzeugt. Hingegen legte die Computerauswertung nicht nur offen, wie häufig bzw. selten einzelne Motive gewählt worden waren, sie zeigte auch, welche Muster ihre Zusammenstellung bargen, die sie mit anderen Teilnehmer_innen gemeinsam hatten. Die Sequenz- und Titelwahrscheinlichkeit, Farbähnlichkeit und Bildgruppen waren solche Kategorien, die der Analyse des Wahlverhaltens dienten. Von solchen unbewusst gewählten Kriterien einzelner Personen lassen sich Wahrscheinlichkeiten errechnen, die künftige Entscheidungen von Gruppen vorhersagbar machen – ein Kalkulationsmodell, das nach dem russischen Mathematiker A. A. Markov benannt wurde und das Grundlage für die Auswertung des Nutzerverhaltens im Internet ist, mit allen ökonomischen und politischen Implikationen, die derzeit im Kontext von Sozialen Medien diskutiert werden.

Armin Linke, Installation »The Appearance of That Which Cannot be Seen«, ZKM, Karlsruhe, 2015

Die Abhängigkeit der Interpretation vom Erkenntnisinteresse

In einem weiteren Projekt – »The Appearance of That Which Cannot Be Seen« von 2015/17 – nahm Linke den umgekehrten Weg. Wieder delegierte er die Auswahl aus seinem Archiv an andere Personen, nun an die Wissenschaftler_innen Ariella Azoulay, Bruno Latour, Peter Weibel, Mark Wigley und Jan Zalasiewicz. Dieses Mal ging es nicht darum, von Mustern ausgewählter Bildgruppen auf formale Auswahlkriterien zu schließen, sondern zu vermitteln, wie unterschiedlich Fotografien gelesen werden können, abhängig von den Denksystemen, die in der langjährigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeit durch das jeweilige Erkenntnisinteresse ausgebildet wurden. Die Aufnahme des Fußballstadions in Warschau, in dem 2013 die 19. UN-Klimakonferenz stattfand, ist zum Beispiel für Jan Zalasiewicz, Bruno Latour und Ariella Azoulay Anlass zu unterschiedlichen Überlegungen. + mehr anzeigen

Armin Linke, Iron Mountain Preservation Facility, Boyers (Pennsylvania) USA, 2018

Die dynamische Markierung
des Archivs

Linke hält weiterhin an seiner dokumentarischen Arbeit als Fotograf fest. Hinzu kommen Kollaborationen, die ihm Gelegenheit geben, die mediale oder institutionelle Rahmung im Internet oder in Archiven daraufhin zu befragen, auf welche Weise sie den Zugang zu Bildern gewähren oder verwehren. In Archiven sind es die Schlagworte, die Motive finden lassen, aber auch den Kontext regulieren, in dem sie auftauchen. Im Internet wiederum werden die Bilder nicht durch ein Wissenssystem, sondern durch die Nutzer_innen und ihre Suchanfragen geordnet. Damit ist die statische Markierung des Archivs einer dynamischen gewichen, da die Ergebnisse zu vergleichbaren Suchanfragen im Internet im Hintergrund mitlaufen.

»Image Capital« – Die Ausweitung des Dokumentarischen

Die Fotohistorikerin Blaschke hat sich mit diesem Phänomen in ihrem Forschungsprojekt zur 1936 von Otto Bettmann gegründeten Bildagentur beschäftigt, die 1995 in das Fotoarchiv und –distributionsunternehmen Corbis einging und seit 2016 zu einem Unternehmen der chinesischen Visual China Group gehört. Ihre wissenschaftliche Untersuchung bildet nun den Ausgangspunkt für ein neues Projekt, das Linke mit ihr unter dem Titel »Image Capital« begonnen hat. Es ist sicher, dass er in dieser Zusammenarbeit neue ikonische Fotografien schaffen wird, die die Komplexität der Auseinandersetzung visuell verdichten.

In diesem Sinne kann in Linkes Werk von einer Ausweitung des Dokumentarischen gesprochen werden, da es nicht mehr der bloßen Beschreibung der Welt dient, wie es vielleicht die selbstgewählte Aufgabe der klassischen Dokumentarfotografie einmal war. Vielmehr ist damit eine künstlerische Forschung verbunden, die Linke in dem Interview 2016 mit Illaria Speri so beschreibt:

»Für mich sind Ausstellungen, ein Buch, ein Film formal abgeschlossen, aber im Sinn eines Essays: das Experiment ist beendet, aber die Interpretation weiter offen. Sie erlauben es mir voranzuschreiten und andere Ausdrucksformen, Themen, Orte oder Interpretationen zu suchen.«

Armin Linke, Installation »L’apparenza di ciò che non si vede / The Appearance of that which cannot be seen«, PAC – Padiglione d'Arte Contemporanea di Milano, 2016
Armin Linke, Installation »L’apparenza di ciò che non si vede / The Appearance of that which cannot be seen«, PAC – Padiglione d'Arte Contemporanea di Milano, 2016
Armin Linke, Three Gorges Dam, construction of a lift for ships, Yichang (Hubei) China, 1998

Künstlerworkshops

Erleben Sie die vier nominierten Künstler live! Jeder von Ihnen bietet einen eigenen Workshop an. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie, wenn Sie auf das Bild unten klicken.